TOP 4 DIY BEAUTY REMEDIES YOU CAN’T MAKE IT THROUGH WINTER WITHOUT

By Brooke Blom | Natural Beauty Blogger

Hello DIY Beauty Queens.

With all of this cold, dry weather I know you are all searching for those perfect affordable, DIY remedies that will help to heal those cracked lips, dry elbows, and bring back your beautiful summer glow. Well, your wish is my command! Today’s post is going to be a combination of  my favourite DIY winter remedies that will help you keep up the maintenance of that unwanted dry skin.

Suffering from eczema my whole life has made it very difficult to find skin products that don’t irritate it, which is why I decided to begin making my own natural beauty products. All these remedies are super affordable and gentle, and should cater to anyone else who suffers from any skin sensitivities.

DIY SMOOTH ‘N’ SCRUB : COFFEE BODY EXFOLIANT

Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 5.53.53 PMLadies, we all know how important it is to moisturize, but many women forget that it’s even more important to be exfoliating. In order to get rid of those nasty dead skin cells we should be using a mild body scrub 2 to 3 times per week. I know these scrubs can become a bit pricey and using them 2 to 3 times per week means we also go through them quite fast. I am a big fan of the LUSH “Ocean Salt Scrub”, which is
$36.95 plus tax. I was going through a 8.8 oz. tub every three weeks which was not worth it for me, even though I am obsessed with the product.

At this point I decided to make my own exfoliant by using all-natural and affordable household products. Here is my all time favourite body scrub – feel free to add other natural oils or products you love and experiment. You never know what you may create.

 

You will need:Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 5.58.45 PM

  1. 1 and ½  cup organic coconut oil
  2. ½ cup organic o
    live oil
  3. ¼ cup sea salt1 cup coffee grinds

 

Mix it all together and scrub your body all over; follow up with the DIY coconut shaving cream.

 

DIY DRY SKIN SAVER : COCONUT OIL SHAVING CREAM

Yes beauty queens, you’ve heard it before and I will say it again. Coconut oil is the answer to all of your dry skin problems. This amazing natural product has so many great uses for our body, skin, and hair. During the winter I avoid shaving at any cost to stop myself from getting those scaly, crocodile-skin legs. Well avoid-no-more! Here is one of my favourite remedies for keeping your legs smooth and moisturized all winter long.

Find a clean glass jar to create your shaving cream in:

Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 6.09.45 PM

  1. ¼ cup organic coconut oil
  2. ¾ cup of aloe vera gel 
  3. 1 vitamin E capsule
  4. 10-15 drops of essential oils

 

Shake well before use, and enjoy your glowing legs! Check out 107 other everyday great uses for coconut oil.

 

DIY HONEY + SUGAR : LIP SCRUB

Save those sore cracked lips with this easy-to-make lip exfoliant! It’s important to shed that dry skin off your lips before you keep reapplying your lip balm. Here is a great remedy that saves my lips all winter. Use 1 to 2 times every other day.

Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 6.15.30 PM

Mix together:

  1. 2 tsp. sugar
  2. 1 tsp. raw, unpasteurized honey
  3. 1 tsp. almond oil

TIP: Add a dash of cinnamon or cayenne if you want to naturally ‘plump’ your lips

 

 

DIY AVOCADO HYDRATION MASK

I always find my face suffers the most in the winter months. I lose my beautiful glow and my skin feels a lack of that vitamin D and moisture. This mask is easy to make with only three ingredients and it really makes the  world of a difference. Grab that avocado out of your fridge and use the last half to treat yourself to an avo-facial!

Mix together:avocado

  1. ½ avocado
  2. ½ very ripe banana
  3. 1 tbsp. organic olive oil

Mix this mask together and allow the mixture to sit on your face for 10-15 minutes, avoiding contact with the eyes. Feel free to lay a towel on your chest to avoid any drippage.

Pat dry with a damp cloth to enjoy your new glow!

I hope these remedies are as beneficial to you all as they were for me. Over the winter months rotate these great DIY remedies to save your skin and keep yourself feeling fabulous let me know if you have any positive or negative feedback towards any of my masks.
Exfoliate, moisturize & Bundle up Beauty Queens xo

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

