5 Tips to a Flawless and Fool Proof Cake Pop

Cake pops. My absolute favourite way to eat cake. I like to think of myself as a student by day and a dessert enthusiast by night (okay, and also by day because dessert is good all the time!) I first discovered cake pops while scrolling through Pinterest because where else would I find out about a new and trendy way to eat cake?

Some mouth watering cake pops I saw on Pinterest.
Some mouth watering cake pops I saw on Pinterest.

So I was sitting on my bed scrolling through pages of flawless and delicious cake pop pictures and drooling because now I wanted cute little cake pops too! Except, it was like 11 p.m. and there was no way I was going to try my hand at cake pops while everyone in my house was asleep. So I just kept scrolling and pinning things while thinking that these cake pops looked so easy to make! But boy was I wrong…

The first time I made cake pops, it was for a homeless shelter I volunteer at. It was around Christmas time so my mom thought it might be a nice little treat for the people there. I love baking so of course I was all in but obviously, this being the first time I’ve ever tried making cake pops, I didn’t know what I was doing. At the end of the day, they didn’t come out like the cake pops I saw on Pinterest. But hey, they tasted pretty great and it’s what’s on the inside that counts right?

Obviously I needed more practice. So to get this practice, I decided to make cake pops for various occasions. I used YouTube, Pinterest, and blogs to help me achieve a flawless cake pop. I even came up with some of my own tips to help myself out.

With these tips, you can use any cake pop recipe you like and just add these extra little steps to ensure a quality cake pop!

TIP 1

When crumbling the cake, be sure to make crumble it really fine– no large pieces or lumps allowed! It makes for easier mixing if it’s fine and a smoother pop.

TIP 2

When mixing the frosting into the cake, don’t use too much! Remember, you’re making CAKE pops, not frosting pops. You just want to combine the cake with enough frosting in order to shape the cake balls. However, if the cake looks a bit dry, then do add extra frosting to make it moist.

TIP 3

Time to start forming the pops! I find that chilling the mix before I form the pops works really well for me. It makes the mix a little sturdier to work with. Also, you need to chill the pops AFTER you form them into balls. I usually put them in the fridge for 30 minutes to one hour or in the freezer for 20 to 25 minutes. You’ll know when they’re ready, they’ll obviously be cold, but also stiffer to the touch on the outside.

TIP 4

Now, when adding the sticks to the pops, I like to make a hole first, pour a bit of the melted chocolate in that hole, dip the stick in the chocolate and then put the stick into the pop. I know it sounds confusing and like a lot of extra work, but it really does help the stick stay in place. Now, you have to chill the pops again before the final step!

These pictures show how to properly make and fil the hole, and hopefully  make the instructions a bit clearer.
These pictures show how to properly make and fill the hole, and hopefully make the instructions a bit clearer.

poke-hole-in-cake-pop-homemakerchic-com

TIP 5

My only advice for the last stage (where your cake pop basically gets dressed in chocolate) is make sure you follow the above tips and you shouldn’t have any problems! No, really, when dipping the cake pops, it can get really messy especially if you pop keeps falling off the stick. But, the above tricks seem to work pretty well which makes the last stage really easy and a lot of fun. I usually stay simple with decorations, just some sprinkles usually works fine. However, if you’re feeling like being creative and adventurous, here are some ideas for decorations if you’re stuck!

Some decoration inspiration for you!
Some decoration inspiration for you!

I hope these tips help you create an amazing dessert that you can serve and eat proudly! Let me know in the comments below if these tips helped you and share your own ideas with me!

Raveena Maharaj is a full-time, first year, Public Relations student, at Humber College

Leave a Reply

