The little black bag; Tom Ford

New-Tom-Ford-Store-at-Paris-5

Written by Billy Korekiyo, Humber College student, cologne enthusiast

Monday, October 26, 2015

When you suggested we take a trip back to Paris, the memories of our first visit came flooding through. You were leading me down your favourite street. With an espresso in-hand, the scent of roses swept past me. Advancing, we strolled through the cafe, into the gardens, towards the shopping district. Distracted and excited by my discovery, I caught sight of Tom Ford, pure bliss.

“Come on! I’ve got a lot to show you.” You called out, continuing to pull me along.

Shaking my head, “Some people never change.” I said, trying not to spill my coffee.

We found ourselves at store fronts; diving and dipping into boutiques like flies. I lost sight of you, overwhelmed by the crowds of people and the intoxicating aromas from my coffee and the rose garden, I searched for you. Moments later I caught you, smiling. In your hands was a black shopping bag marked “TF” and I knew where you had just been; I smiled back. Knowing that you know me and knowing that I know you, i could guess it was Cafe Rose by Tom Ford that you just picked up. Yet another surprise to that vacation, which happened to be a surprise in itself.

follow_ford_cafe_rose20121012140440

With all the nostalgia aside, that was the day I acquired one of my favourite memories, and one of my favourite unisex colognes, Cafe Rose by Tom Ford. I could ramble on for pages remarking the beautiful qualities, but why don’t I just stick with Cafe Rose for now? Despite the empty bottle, I still remember it clearly.

Cafe Rose is a beautiful and sultry concoction of rose paired with coffee and spicy notes. As the name would suggest, coffee and rose are at the forefront of this scent. Although, if this cologne $260 price tag. Although, with the addition of saffron and black pepper to the May rose, the top notes create a warm and comforting introduction. Much like the feeling you get from your favourite home-cooked meal in the cold winter months.

After the initial spray, the top notes fade into the background, and the cologne dries to the skin, revealing Turkish, and Bulgarian rose matched with coffee, which make up the middle notes. coffeeThe luxurious roses and a rich coffee mingle together without being too sweet or overly floral. I’m still trying to figure out how Tom Ford’s perfumers managed to capture the first seconds of a perfectly brewed coffee in a scent that lasts for hours.

Lastly we have the base notes; incense, amber, sandalwood and patchouli which make Cafe Rose a “Chypre Floral.” This means any fragrance with a base of sandalwood and floral notes, in this case, roses and patchouli. In the dry-down stage incense and amber carry the similar Photo of Incensewarm and spicy feel the black pepper and saffron add in the top notes. This ends the scent with warm and a more masculine touch.

Now, if you’re still wondering how a fragrance for both men and women can have floral notes: In this case, Tom Ford has balanced the sweet and feminine qualities of a floral fragrance with the bitter, more masculine qualities of coffee, amber and incense. To which both genders can enjoy, although it does lean on the feminine side on most skin types. Balance combined with high quality ingredients and longevity creates a fragrance that you can smell strongly for over seven hours with just two sprays, a very rare quality to find in modern fragrances. To me, Cafe Rose holds a special place in my heart. I love the nostalgia and comfort a whiff of this scent brings to me; I hope you love it as much as I do.

Ratings

Longevity: 9/10

Projection: 9/10

Overall review 9/10

My questions for the readers

1. Have you ever smelled this fragrance or something similar? What was it and what did you think of it?

2. We all have memories of our favourite places on earth. What scents remind you of those places? Where are they?

Please feel free to request a review of your favourite fragrances!

Hey Mrs. Carter!

Gucci-et-Beyonce-aident-les-femmes-avec-Chime-for-change

Leave a Reply

