Movies, can they change lives?

Daniel Ruccella, public relations student at Humber College, School of Media

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to change your life? What measure of time is enough to truly be life-altering? Is it four years, like high-school? Five years at University? Can your life change in a month, a week, or a single day? Or how about in the span of a song or a movie?

Movies are and will always be apart of people’s life and I strongly believe that movies have a way of impacting us in ways that many other things simply cannot. The way a movie can sweep us off of our feet in a matter of minutes and transport us in to completely new worlds where almost anything is possible is truly magical.

Think back to when you were four-years-old, you are outside playing in your backyard waving around a branch, wearing a towel or sheet on your back. You and I both know that the stick in your hand is actually a sword and the cloth on your back is your cape. In our heads, we were heroes, knights, kings and queens of our domain, whereas to others we were silly kids with wild imaginations.  These wild and almost stupidly crazy imaginations were created in our minds from what we saw in movies. Movies that taught us how to dream and taught us that having dreams and following them is allowed.

Rear-view of a little boy in a red cape looking bravely to the horizon

Movies help us escape our reality and join a new one. Even if it is only for an hour or so, it is enough time to maybe learn something new. Sometimes a movie can make us think twice about our current situations. For example, watch a movie about African American civil rights in the 60s such as Selma, watch the racism and the hate that the people faced and you may not feel sorry for yourself anymore. Your life may not seem so bad after all. Not all movies have to be that serious. Movies take our emotions on an adventure; they make us laugh and cry and scream, sometimes all at once. They make us fall in love with people who aren’t real, but still get into our hearts so deeply that we feel like we lose part of ourselves when they die.

marvel_logoWalt-Disney-Logo

The impact movies have had on my life is unmeasurable. One of my favourite places to go is the move theatre. My idea of a perfect date is Netflix. I am a public relations student because I love working with people and I want to work with them in the movie industry! To me, when I watch a Disney movie, I am reminded that all of my dreams are possible if I have the courage to pursue them. When I watch a Harry Potter movie, even for the billionth time, I am reminded of the power of love and friendship and the idea of magic. And when I watch a Marvel superhero movie I am reminded that there is a hero in all of us, that gives us straight and keeps us honest. And I don’t need super strength or the ability to fly; I just need to be brave enough to follow the voice inside my head.

For some reason, when people grow up, they forget what its like be the kid in the backyard with the branch and the cape. Whenever I feel down or lost, I watch a movie because I believe that they have the ability to teach us and inspire us and change our lives. When I’m scared I’m not living up to my expectations, i’ll watch The Blind Side with Sandra Bullock and I am reminded that there is greatness in all of us. What about you? What is your best inspirational movie? What movie can automatically lift your spirits when you watch it like the way watching Harry Potter does for me?

Think about it for yourself. And you may not agree and thats okay. I cannot imagine that everyone in the world believes that movies can actually be the perfect thing to change your life. I’m sure that some people see movies as simple pieces of entertainment. My point is that it does not take much to change your life if you let it.  So, What measure of time is enough to truly be life-altering? For me, it’s the length of movie. What is it for you?

Leave a Reply

