10 Most important Things that MMA Has Taught Me

Daisy Zamarripa | full-time public relations student and MMA Fighter

daisymma
Being a female fighter is one of the best experiences that I ever had and I am forever grateful to god for giving me a dream and a purpose in this world.

Fighting has enriched my life in many aspects. It has helped me not only physically, but mentally as well. I’ve learned so many things from being a female fighter and I will share the most important things that MMA has taught me:

1)  I’ve learned to protect myself. One of the best things about MMA is that everything that we learn we can use it in our daily lives. Hopefully I will never use it, but I’m prepared for any dangerous situation.

2)  I‘ve learned to be humble because sometimes ego goes to your head and you feel unstoppable like a superhero and I won’t lie, it’s amazing. It’s even better than being in love, but it’s important to learn how to step back and accept when someone is better than you.

mma batle marks

3)  I learned To push my limits every day, if there is something that I am 100 percent sure about is that you can always do more, and that will make the difference between you and your opponents. At the moment when you are fighting there will always be someone who wants it more than you.

………………..
4)  I’ve learned that my parents were right; when I was 7 or 8 years old, I played basketball and during a match a girl pushed me and I fell in the concrete. I still remember the cold sensation of blood running through my knees. I remember how badly I wanted to quit. I just wanted to be spoiled and pampered by my parents. Instead of that I received one of the biggest and most important lessons of my life; my parents walked to me, looked me in the eye and said, “ You are not a loser; we don’t care if you are in pain you are getting up and  will keep playing until the end. In this family, no one quits.”


5)  Even if you start doubting yourself and asking. “What the hell am I doing?” you have all the right to be there. I remember being all covered in sweat, surrounded by guys who, were stronger and more experienced than I. But I kept telling myself, “You can do this daisy! This is your dream!” And I kept pushing and pushing until I earned respect from my team and I realized that the fact of being a girl did not make me less than any of them, and that I had all the right to be there.

……
6)   I’ve learned not to judge people without knowing them…… one day our Brazilian Jiu Jitsu coach said that he is leaving the gym and that our new coach was going to be Gustavo Navarrete AKA “Goku.” I didn’t  like him, I was angry because I felt abandoned by our old coach. But I met the amazing and hard working person that Goku is and today he is one of my best friends and the BEST coach I ever had! I’ve learned to love people who I don’t even share blood with. “FORÇA TOP TEAM” is my second family.

mma team

7)  The worst enemy you can have is in your mind. You are the only one with the power of destroying yourself. Limits are an illusion that we created to stay in our comfort zone. Every time I step inside a cage, I’m afraid of letting my family and team down. It is a fear of not being enough, but I’ve learned to embrace my fears and turn them into courage.

8)  Despite what people think and say, you have to fight for your dreams. I’ve lost the count of how many times I’ve been rejected, criticized, called  a “tomboy” or “lesbian” for being a fighter. But  that  would never stop me from doing what I was meant to do.

9)  Throughout the years I realized that life is a constant fight from the moment when we take our first breath till the last one. I’ve learned to enjoy the path and worrying too much about the goal can make you lose focus. The best thing you can do is just enjoy the ride; each step will take you closer and just embrace the process.

IMG_661110)   At the end of the day I’ve learned that I don’t have to worry about being a UFC fighter and stress out about it because, I know that I will be. Most people focus on the wrong thing; They focus on the result, not the process. The process is the sacrifice; it’s all the hard work, the sweat, the pain and loses. Eventually you learn to enjoy them. In the end is the sacrifices that must fulfill you.

So…are you enjoying the ride?

3 thoughts on “10 Most important Things that MMA Has Taught Me

  1. neronator October 30, 2015 / 3:51 am

    DAISSSSSY! I loved your blog. Very inspirational. Can’t wait to see you fighting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Larraine Chong July 10, 2016 / 3:34 pm

    Just checking in Daisy… your blog is awesome and so informative… I am so very proud of you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

