5 cool and inspiring DIY bloggers to follow

By Aissatou Bah, a public relations advanced diploma student at Humber College.

Hello everyone, DIY Queen here!

Last time I gave you five cheap and easy college DIY ideas. If you missed it, click here: https://damagecontrol7media.wordpress.com/2015/03/25/784/

A lot of my friends ask me where I get my ideas from. And the truth is that I am always getting inspired by other creative crafters! So today I am going to introduce you to five blogs and social media websites that inspire me when I want to create new things.

One: YouTuber JENerationDIY

For those of you who don’t know, I love YouTube! When I first started doing DIYs, YouTube was my go to place to find educational videos and DIY projects. The channel that inspired me from the beginning is called JENerationDIY.

JENeration DIY

Jennifer is a 16 year old girl who enjoys DIYs and YouTube (like me!). She decided to make a channel in 2013 and has now reached over 150,000 subscribers! What attracted me to her channel was her passion for DIYs, her great ideas and her enthusiasm in every video! We are actually around the same age so I feel like I can connect with her because we’re practically going through the same things in life. She always tries to make the best instructional videos for us. Bonus: She’s Canadian!

Check out her channel here: https://www.youtube.com/user/JENerationDIY/featured

Two: Pinterest

“Pinterest is a place to discover ideas for all your projects and interests, hand-picked by people like you.”

Pinterest

This quote literally says it all. Millions of people use Pinterest as a place to create, share and discover new ideas. To save a post all you have to do is like or pin it!

I enjoy using this site because it is so easy to use. When you search DIY, there are specific categories for everything such as: gifts, beauty, projects, bedroom, furniture and so much more. These categories save me so much time when I am trying to look for something particular!

Three: A beautiful mess

I discovered A beautiful mess pretty recently and was very pleased. A beautiful mess is a “women’s lifestyle company focused on creating happiness through a homemade lifestyle.” They share crafts, recipes and home decor ideas.

A beautiful mess

Above are Elsie Larson (left) and Emma Chapman (right). These sisters are the founders of this blog. The rest of the team consists of photographers, videographers, writers and editors. They released two books and two photo apps as well as a product line.

What I love about their blog is that it is so easy to navigate and the tabs separate each category.  You can really tell the team works well together and that they are all passionate about their work.

They actually inspired my older sister and I on starting our own soon-to-be revealed jewellery company.

Check their blog here: http://www.abeautifulmess.com/

Four: DIYFashion on Tumblr

This is another blog I recently discovered. Although the author remains a mystery, the person did leave their objective *clears throat*- to bring fashion DIY projects from the web to one convenient source. If that isn’t one cool idea, I don’t know what is!

DIY Fashion

I spend a fair amount of time on Tumblr and I feel like most of my posts revolve around fashion and beauty. Following this blog gives me the opportunity to discover people who do fashion DIYs. What’s awesome is if you have a DIY you want to share and it’s not getting attention, all you have to do is hit the submit button!

If you want to check out her blog click here: http://diyfashion.tumblr.com/

Five: Blogger No Bake Makery

Many people think that DIYs is just makin’ stuff – WRONG! Doing it yourself doesn’t have to be limited to objects. It can also be food. This blogger makes non-baked DIY treats! *drool*

No bake makery

No bake makery 2  No bake makery 3

I, like many others, enjoy sweet treats and sometimes I just don’t want to bake. I feel like these recipes are easy and quick to create. They are also unique treats that I would never think of inventing.

Discover new recipes here: http://nobakemakery.blogspot.ca/

All of the blogs I mentioned above taught me one thing; you don’t have to buy everything. Making things from your bare hands gives you a feeling of accomplishment like no other. When I first started doing DIYs, I had no clue I would be here talking to you about it. I also had no clue that I had entered a world of creativity that I can probably never get out of (I say this in the best way possible I promise!). So give DIYs a try! Start with something small and end up with big results.

What is your favourite blog? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

