EATING HABITS OF TEENAGERS

 

BY- JUNAID DOKADIA, Humber College, WINTER 2015

The eating habits of teenagers are often rather strange, and teens take many nutritional risks. They may miss family meals and fill up on fast food; they may skip breakfast and experiment with meal supplements. Some girls cut calories to lose weight; some boys pack in calories to gain weight: In brief, they’ve turned a corner and realized that they can do whatever they want with their bodies.

 

But don’t point out to your son that he’s living on grease. A parent’s direct criticism of what a teen eats is not usually effective. Your job is to provide a variety of nutritious foods and then back off. Teens should be allowed to decide what and how much to eat.

 

Teenagers usually take a quick snack on their way to college or work. They don’t pay attention to nutritional facts. In order to save time, they pick a pack of chips or a burger which may seem to be tasty and time saving, but it has lots of flaws which one may not get to know now, but in the long run, it will surely affect the health of an individual.

Let’s not just talk about teenagers, but also people from other age groups. Today more than 70% of people consume fast foods every day, without thinking about their health or the nutritional value of the food. People don’t think about the amount of exercise they do. The last time they used the stairs instead of the elevator, or the last time they walked for a mile. Then they think they are turning obese.

With this article on food I would, also like to talk about the various exercise an individual should do to stay healthy. Taking out an hours time from our daily schedule for some exercise. In order to stay healthy one should follow these exercises.

  1. Running a mile early in the morning.
  2. Going to the gymnasium and working out at least four days a week.
  3. Yoga
  4. Taking stairs instead of the elevators
  5. Playing a game of your favorite sport on weekends.

There are various other ways to stay fit and healthy. Coming back to our topic, the most common reasons for teenagers becoming unhealthy is their unusual eating times. Having proper meals on proper times makes a person healthy and keeps away various diseases. The other reason is teenagers have become less active. They prefer playing games on their electronic devices rather than going out and playing a game of baseball or soccer with their friends.

 

Being a teenager, I would like to share my personal experience with you. Around three years ago, I had a very bad eating habit, in fact my daily schedule was a complete mess. As it was my summer break, I used to wake up at twelve in the afternoon, that made me skip my breakfast, the most important meal of the day. I used to eat lunch and then go out and hang around with my friends, and eat different street food during the day. Coming back home I had no room left in my stomach for the dinner cooked by my mom, which also made me skip my dinner. As this went on for a while I noticed that I am becoming lazier, and unhealthy. I was also becoming obese as I was not at all involved in any of the sport activities. Walking for a mere ten minutes was a big headache for me. Then I realized my problems and decided to work upon them. The very next day I woke up early in the morning and went for a jog, had a healthy breakfast and avoided any extra food between my meals I also made sure I go back home for a good home cooked lunch and also have my dinner on time. Following the same routine for a month I realized I am becoming fit again and losing weight. This also motivated me to workout in the gym and get some more muscles to show off! When I see myself today I realize there is never too late to get health conscious.

Following are the tips for teenagers to follow good eating habits

  1. Junk food is a poor fuel for your body, avoid it as much as you can
  2. Change the way you think about foods, healthy food is also as tasty as those chips and burgers out there.
  3. Change your eating environment.
  4. Get help if you are confused. For example consult your doctor or a dietician for help.
  5. Things to remember
  1. A teenager who eats fast food regularly is more likely to put on weight than a teenager who eats fast food occasionally.
  2. A diet consisting of healthy meals will boost your intake of nutrients such as calcium, which is important for bones
  3. Eating well does not mean you should be a health freak, having your favorite junk foods is also good at times.

 

I hope this article proves useful in improving a daily diet of a teenager and also help them get involved in to some exercises.

 

 

2 thoughts on “EATING HABITS OF TEENAGERS

  1. cray14 April 15, 2015 / 9:34 pm

    I really liked your blog about people’s eating habits. I agree with your statement about people grabbing something quickly before class and filling up on junk food . Its scary knowing that 70% of people consume fast food everyday. This sort of thing has happened to me until I changed my eating habits. As a first year student, eating healthy was something that wasn’t on my list. I wouldn’t think before I ate something that wasn’t good for me. My mind made excuses, my thoughts were “I’m in college now, I can do whatever I want”. That all changed towards then end of my first semester when I went on the scale. It was shocking to see what happened to me in just a few months in school. Not to long after I changed the way I ate and exercised as well. In just one week my friends and family saw a huge difference just by one glance. Not only did I lose weight but I had more endurance to play trumpet and my Grades started to go up. Doing all of this was not easy at the start, now eating healthy and going to gym has become my everyday routine.

    Like

  2. dzh847 April 16, 2015 / 3:12 am

    Teenager is an important part for people grow up to be an adult, sport and food are significant for people’s life, also include the teenagers. They need more health food and more sport in their life, because they need those thing to build their body when they are be come a teenagers, almost good and bad habit birth on the teenagers, if a teenagers eat very health, when he build a health system in his life, the man will have really good life style and have a happiness life, because he will not have some problem.
    People need sport in their life, when people star to do some sport, they will feel different between old style, more health and more energy. People need sport to balance their body, give people more muscle and change people’s basic metabolism. The basic metabolism is very important for people, that number will decide people’s body bad or good, that means if people have higher metabolism, they will get more energy from food and body, if people just have lower metabolism, they will become fat and disability.
    Eat health food and do more sport, let’s enjoin the health life become a super teenager.
    Zihao Ding, a student form Humber College.

    Like

Leave a Reply

