AWARD SHOWS: The 3 reasons why we really tune in

me social media


Dana Rombough is a full-time student enrolled in 
Humber College’s public relations program.





With the Oscars and Grammys just passing, it’s hard to ignore all the buzz that we hear surrounding awards shows. While we hear about almost every topic, ranging from best-dressed to embarrassing moments, rarely do we hear about the actual winners. I think we’d all like to say that we tune into award shows to appreciate all the talented nominees and give respect to their work. But is that really true? I’m calling bullshit. People don’t care about the art anymore; not that I’m any different, but I feel like we should all admit to this. However, people ultimately do tune into the shows – a solid 37.3 million total viewers tuned into the 2015 Oscars this year – and here’s why!

  1. THE FASHION

Definitely one of the most important reasons why people tune into the Oscars. We love to see all the hunky men in their suits, and the women in sometimes great, sometimes awful dresses. But why do we love it so much? Maybe it’s the little girl in us that dreams of being a princess. We’re able to live vicariously through the stars and their elaborate gowns. Or maybe it’s just an excuse to poke fun at the stars who didn’t hit the mark. Who remembers Lady Gaga’s dress made of meat? Whatever your reason is, admit I; it’s fun to marvel at the extraordinary fashion of Hollywood.

  1. THE PERFORMANCES

Another reason we tune into award shows is to watch all of the performances. I believe that this is the only part of the show where people really care about the talent. It’s great to see the stars belt it out on a stage in front of millions of at-home viewers. And while it’s nice to see performances focused solely on the singing and the voice, it’s also great to see those entertaining ones. Let me take you back to 2013. It’s summer, the VMA’s are on, and Miley Cyrus is twerking on Robin Thicke. Whether you liked the performance or not, you’re probably glad you were tuned in to watch it. It was the hot topic for a long time. It almost got as much buzz as THE DRESS. Which I’m pretty sure is blue and black, right? Wait, gold and white? No, I definitely mean blue and black. Okay, I’m getting off topic.

  1. THE EMBARRASSING MOMENTS

The last, and probably most applicable reason we all tune into award shows, is for the embarrassing moments. I know you all probably wont admit, and maybe you don’t even realize it yourself, but it is damn entertaining to watch the ‘picture-perfect-stars’ mess up on whatever they’re supposed to be doing. I think the greatest award moment in all of history was when John Travolta somehow managed to pronounce Idina Menzel’s name so horribly wrong. He called her Adele Dazeem for Christ’s sake. If you haven’t seen it, please watch it right now. I promise that it will be one of the greatest moments of your life. And I’m not trying to hate on John Travolta – I actually think he’s a fantastic actor and especially singer – it’s just entertaining to poke some harmless fun at the stars. Not only are their mistakes funny, but it also reminds us that they’re human too. It sort of fades away their spotless personas, and reminds us that they’re not perfect, nor are they supposed to be.

So while many of you readers might like to pretend that you really care about the Oscars or Grammys or Emmy’s solely for the talent, deep down, you know I’m right. Don’t get me wrong, there are a small percentage who do care about the art being recognized, I’m just saying I believe that percent is very small. Have any of you even watched half of the movies that were nominated for an Oscar for best-picture? Does anyone here even know what Birdman is about? Whatever story you’re sticking too, I’ll see you all next year’s award season, and you’ll know exactly why I’m tuning in. Readers, do you agree that hardly anyone watches award shows for the awards anymore? Let me know in the comments. And don’t forget to share your favourite Oscar moments!

One thought on “AWARD SHOWS: The 3 reasons why we really tune in

  1. narose7 April 13, 2015 / 4:21 pm

    This comment was made by Natasha R. Brown a public relations advanced diploma student at Humber College.

    This is so on point!! You broke down the main reasons why people follow the lives of celebrities so concisely. I think that nowadays, celebrities have such a massive impact on the way that people live their lives. Everything that they do from their fashion to their cars to the things they are interested in and even what they eat is out there for people to see. I personal can say that some of my fashion choices have been impacted by things that I have seen celebrities wearing or even by brands that they have endorsed. All of this being said, I feel that it is so important for celebrities to comport themselves in a manner that shows that they are people that are not solely concerned with glitz and glamour, but also individuals that have intelligence, dignity, respect and integrity. It is so easy to access the lives of individuals in the limelight in today’s day and age. Social media makes it easy and convenient for people to broadcast their lives. I think often times individuals can look at a 15 second clip and misinterpret what they are seeing. Often times I think that this is why celebrities wind up in hot water with the press, because they too, are just people trying to live their lives and have fun. I often feel bad for celebrities because it cannot be easy to go through your life always under a microscope, and constantly being scrutinized for everything that you do. I think that what you said about knowing when to draw the line when it comes to following celebrities is so imperative because if not we can get sucked into an unrealistic view on what life is really all about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

