Wanderlust – The Joys of Travel

I’m Sara Sorzano, a first year international student in Humber College, travel fanatic and now blogger.

 

At a point in our lives, many of us are hit with this feeling of wanderlust; the immense desire to travel and explore the world past the horizon. I have been fortunate enough to travel, not just around countries, but to countries in different regions and continents, all with so much to offer. I have had the pleasure of living in four different places, all with different cultures that I was able to absorb and learn from. I have lived in Venezuela, Michigan, Trinidad and now Canada.

There is nothing more satisfying than going on trip and learning about the place; getting involved with the culture and the people, learning to live the way they do. There is so much to learn from the world around us. I am very fortunate to have been able to extend my horizons so much in such little time. I have travelled to Europe, South America, North America, and a few Caribbean islands.

download (1)

1. Europe

My wanderlust started when my family and I travelled to Spain in 2009. It took us 12 long hours and two planes to get there but it was absolutely worth it. We started our trip in Madrid where we spent 4 days sight seeing, walking everywhere and taking the bus in order to get a feel of their day-to-day lives. We visited the Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor, walked along the Gran Via, and what felt like a thousand cathedrals – all absolutely stunning though. We of course visited the Prado Museum, where they have famous paintings by artist like Goya and Manet.

We then rented a car to drive around the country and explore other major cities, such as Granada, Malaga, Seville, Cordoba, and many other small towns on the way. It was truly a wonderful experience to see all the different landscapes, monuments and architecture. Even down to the food they ate was different; they called them ‘tapas’ which were small meals they would eat throughout the day. This was such an enriching experience, that my whole family caught the wanderlust bug and planned our next yearly trip, which was to Italy on Easter 2010.

Rome for Easter you say? Yes. You can just imagine what an experience that was! Though we were too far to see the Pope, we did get a chance to visit the Vatican. Not to mention other monuments like the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, and the Coliseum. Of course we also visited the Leaning Tower of Pisa, and took a trip to Venice – even went on one of the boats in the canals! It was certainly an unforgettable trip.

Espana 09 II 057      Rome March 2010 134

2. South America

Since I grew up in Venezuela, I can’t say there has been much culture shock in this region. However, travelling to Argentina in 2011 was a very interesting trip. Did you know that Argentina’s winter is during Canada’s summer time and their summer is during Canada’s winter? I know, weird! But I thought that was a really fun fact.

We stayed by family in the capital, Buenos Aires, where we indulged in all of their delicious food. We figured we should explore all of their different food choices, and concluded that they were all equally as amazing and mouth watering. Every steak I had was the best steak I ever had in my life, and nothing like enjoying it while watching their national dance, the tango.

We then travelled further south to explore a breathtaking place called Bariloche. No place has ever made me feel so in touch with nature –without actually having to physically interact with it too much for those of us who don’t like bugs – as this town did. It may have been freezing, but the way the snowy mountains hit the blue lakes was just mesmerizing.

3. North America

In my previous blog I talked about Canada and their culture. I have only even been to Toronto and Montreal, and I have grown fond of both. Except for winter. These past few months have convinced me I was meant to live on a beach. But I definitely appreciate the experience of deathly freezing temperatures; again, expanding my horizons.

My family and I travelled to New York City for New Years in 2012. It was definitely a once in a lifetime experience but one that I’m really grateful to be able to say I had. It was such an adrenaline rush to stand in Time Square next to thousands of people, surrounded by all the bright colorful screen lights, counting down as the ball dropped. The celebration was incredible, though as someone who suffers from claustrophobia, it really was a one-time thing.

4. The Caribbean

As you may know from my previous blog, the Caribbean is my home; Trinidad and Tobago more specifically. I’m in love with every aspect of it; the beaches, the sun, the year-round summer, the endless parties and calm way of life. There’s endless adventure around every corner, with water sports, waterfalls, and boundless open-water fishing. All Caribbean islands generally offer the same aspects, but all have their own little culture that one just can’t help to admire.

10308367_456876541114490_5746805690126030268_n

 

 

So if the wanderlust bug hits you, let it take you to your own adventures. Everyone should get a chance to travel and explore the world to gain new perspectives. Everyone should get a chance to travel and explore the world to gain new perspectives. If you have any travel stories, please feel free to share!

Leave a Reply

