The Journey of An International Student Acquiring Her Dream In Canada: Part Two

Alicia Bailey is a full-time student enrolled in Humber College’s Human Resource Management program.

 AB“Do not be afraid to embrace obstacles in life, they will leave you in a beautiful place” – A. Bailey

Change is inevitable, and I am now appreciating this cultural change that I have decided to accept. I have now settled in Canada and have accepted all the change that I experienced here. I am grateful to my parents who pushed me pass my limits to acquire my dream.

Through this blog I would like to share my continued experiences, change and transition to a foreign country to acquire my vision.

Since being in Canada for now four years, I have to admit that I learnt a lot. I have adapted to the culture and lifestyle. I have learned time management and how to always be on the go. I also learned to cook new recipes which I enjoy doing in my spare time. In my previous blog I spoke about moving from such a beautiful and warm country to Canada which is very cold. When you are in a situation you learn how to adapt and make the best of it, therefore, I have learned to add extra layers of clothing and brace the weather to accomplish my dream.

Whilst being in Canada it hasn’t only been about school, you have to have a balance or else you will get irritated and give up on your goals and dreams, as you do get stressed and frustrated along the road. After all life is not a bed of roses, you have speed bumps along the road to success. I have visited the famous Niagara Falls which everyone spoke about before I came here. It is breath taking and refreshing to visit and enjoy nature. I’ve also been to Canada’s Wonderland which is a seasonal theme park with various rides, activities and waterslides. Before coming here my friends and cousins would always speak about these two places and I’m glad I got to experience the fun.

Canada’s Wonderland, Vaughn Ontario canadas wonderland,

niagara falls Niagara Falls, Ontario Canada

My journey at Humber College has been phenomenal. I have had a lot of interesting courses as well as some stressful ones, but I’m grateful for all as they have molded me for the professional world. I appreciate Humber College because they are a very hands on college, in that they create opportunities for you and help you experience real life goals. They have facilities and events that assist you in becoming a confident and prepared professional. A few of the facilities that I enjoy using are; the career center – they assist you with mock interviews so that when you get a real interview you are not as scared and you know what to expect and how to address your interviewing fears, they have the writing center which assists you with proof reading your essays and showing you how to improve your grades with a few tips on essay writing, the accounting center which assists you with all your accounting and math problems the tutors explain in detail to ensure that you fully understand and grasp the concept. Humber College does not only provide facilities for your school work as they are very firm on the concept of a work life balance. Humber Student Federation (HSF) hosts events to help students de-stress. A few events they host for students to enjoy are frosh week; the first week of school students enjoy three nights of partying for a small fee, spa day- when students receive a day of pampering for free, they have free breakfast certain mornings of the school semester and they also have open mic events – certain evenings they invite artistes and students get to perform as well as enjoy the various artistes perform.

I can confidently say that being in Canada has opened my eyes to new experiences and appreciating a new culture and way of life. The Canadian culture is very different from the Jamaican culture but “education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world. “– Nelson Mandela. Life is a beautiful thing so change is needed for you to appreciate and make the best of a new chapter in life. Do not be afraid to embrace the obstacles in life, they will lead you to a beautiful place. Tell me about some change in your life.

Thank you for reading my blog. I will leave you with this quote until next time “be the change that you wish to see in the world.” – Mahatma Gandhin

One thought on “The Journey of An International Student Acquiring Her Dream In Canada: Part Two

  1. andres192x April 15, 2015 / 6:32 pm

    Nice article! I can relate to this because I also came to Canada from a completely different country. I come from South America where everything is warm and open, I have been living in Toronto for the past 6 years and I have nothing to regret. Canada is a beautiful place to live in, Toronto is one of the best cities in the world in terms of life quality. Everything is organized, clean, comfortable, people are polite and the government system works in a way that makes things done. Unlike South America or the Caribbean where the governments tend to be corrupt and forget about the well being of their citizens. Even though it is hard to be away from your family, friends and the places you loved in your home country, it is worth every effort because at the end Toronto offers better opportunities than most places in the world. People from other countries say that Canada is cold and boring but in reality it is not like that, you get to enjoy all the seasons and there are tons of fun places to go to, like you mentioned Niagara Falls or Wonderland.
    I agree with the quote you used in your article: “Do not be afraid to embrace obstacles in life, they will leave you in a beautiful place”. It is completely true because most of the time the hard things are the ones that have a better rewards.
    Here are some links to some other fun places to visit in Canada:
    http://vacay.ca/2015/01/20-best-places-to-visit-in-canada-for-2015/
    http://vacay.ca/2014/01/20-best-places-to-travel-in-canada-2014/

    Like

Leave a Reply

