It’s nice to meet you but stop talking to me: Finding Your Inner Ambivert

Mimi Roy is in her first year of college pursuing a diploma in public relations at Humber College. She is  taking her first year of college as it comes. She has learned a lot about life lessons and the tips and tricks on how to survive off of Raman noodles.


There are two types of people who make up this wonderful population we call the human race and no it’s not the people who like their pizza warm as opposed to cold; these people are introverts and extroverts.

Featured image
Extrovert versus the introvert.

I could go into some deep science about the differences about these two types of people but basically all you need to know if you are reading this, is an extrovert by definition is an outgoing person who prospers in upbeat, social environments. Meanwhile an introvert is basically the opposite, someone who is occupied and most comfortable with his or her own thoughts and feelings. (Bear with me as I go into a back story, but know that it segways into the topic of introverts and extroverts).

In my first week of college I had an epiphany that changed how I would go about living in this crazy grown-up world. And that realization was you have to be both an introvert and an extrovert. Lost? Let me explain.

I am extroverted 100 per cent, I love people, conversing, and I feel most productive when I am a part of a team. But then in my first week of college I found myself very alone. I had just moved from a town with the population of 2,800 people to the grand city of Toronto. I hadn’t made friends I was in a strange place and found myself in quite a funk.

So I was sitting in my bedroom of my newly found apartment and felt completely out of place and felt emotionally detached (keep in mind this comes from the mind of an extrovert, introverts reading this must be thinking the solidarity sounds ideal to them).

But haven’t we all been there? Whether you are an introvert or an extrovert, there are times when we feel like we are playing the opposite part. But the point is, we have all been there and it often feels like an identity crisis every time we find ourselves in “playing the opposite part” in order to fit in. So here is the epiphany; instead of trying to play one or the other, we should start practicing the art of an ambiversion.

What is an ambivert you ask? It’s someone with a balance of both extroverted and introverted characteristics. I think it is important we appreciate both the extroverts and introverts of the world -don’t get me wrong I think if you identify with one then great- but if it means adapting to your personality to improve your emotional stability, then give ambiversion a go. So this is my proposal, let’s go back to the theory of Charles Darwin and start adapting. Again, let me go back to the day in the apartment, me in my funk.

Featured image
Adapt to ambiversion. Balance is key

With my new found time alone, I thought “let’s embrace it, take some time for myself”.  So I did. I started thinking a little more like an introvert (for balance sake) and I found myself in an ambiverted state of mind. And as a result I found myself at ease. So why doesn’t everyone try this adaptation? Why don’t we become more ambiverted? Because in the real world everyone often has to deal with many different social settings that can test our emotional stability, so why don’t we deal with these social settings with the best of both worlds! The world needs more ambiverts!

So how do you start to adapt into an ambivert? Here are the first steps:

  1. Open your mind (Mind over matter!)
  2. Go with the flow; work with what you’ve got.
  3. Think: “What would an ambrivert do?”
  4. Revert back to Darwin Days and ADAPT, ADAPT, ADAPT!
  5. Find balance and embrace ambiversion
  6. Featured image
    ‘Nough said

Want to see if you already are? Buzzfeed has some insight on 21 signs that you might already be an ambivert! http://www.buzzfeed.com/lukebailey/ambiverts-for-the-silver#.swkyD9L10M

And that’s it. That is the deep story as to how I had an epiphany to become more ambriverted.  So now I ask, are you an introvert, extrovert, or ambivert? Comment below!

Till the next grand epiphany,

Mimi

Leave a Reply

