Beauty Blunder – Skincare Edition

IMG_5035-1Rachel Bertone is a cosmetician and skincare expert at Shoppers Drug Mart, with more than five years of experience. She has been professionally trained in all of the prestige and dermatologist lines found at Shoppers Drug Mart, that include: Orlane, Elizabeth Arden, Vichy, Lancôme, Avene, La Roche Posay.


  The Horror Story…

Makeup and skincare products are my passion, my part-time job and sometimes my worst enemy. I love purchasing new products to try, especially new releases or products that have fabulous reviews. Since I am so in tuned to my skin I know right away when a product works, and when it doesn’t. However I am sometimes too impatient, in the past I have made a mess of my skin because of it! Has there ever been a time when you were so anxious for a product to work that you ended up damaging your skin? I am going to share my story and provide some tips on how to avoid over-product-ing your skin! One of my close friends works at the Toronto Cosmetic Institute, as a nurse and she gets a lot of samples of their high-end skincare line to try (Skinceuticals – look it up). Knowing that I am a product junkie she gave me a handful of them to try, and the majority of the products were amazing! They made my skin soft, glowing, and even got rid of pimples! 635494328004-phloretin-cf With that confidence in mind I used: Skinceuticals Phloretin CF (pictured above) for three days, morning and night. It is a part of their antioxidant line for oily skin prone to acne or aging; this is exactly what they promise:

A powerful antioxidant that combines patented combination of 2% phloretin, 10% pure vitamin C, and 0.5% ferulic acid. Phloretin CF shields skin from damaging free radicals as it restores a more radiant, even complexion. Provides advanced environmental protection against damaging free radicals induced by UVA, UVB, and pollution Retextures skin and evens skin tone for a firmer, brighter complexion Diminishes dullness and discolorations Once absorbed, this serum can’t be washed or rubbed off. It remains effective for a minimum of 72 hours, making it an excellent addition to sunscreen. 

Sounds wonderful right? I was unaware that it is unable to be washed or rubbed off; so applying it morning and night with the amount that I used (because I was anxious for it to begin to work) my skin could not handle it! The Result The skin on my forehead, chin and lower cheeks turned into a scaly, bumpy disaster. No longer did I have the smooth soft skin I was used to. It was grotesque to the touch, and makeup did not cover it.

skincare
Pictured above is the same look and texture of skin that I experienced on my forehead, chin and lower cheeks

Fix it, and Fix it FAST If anyone has had a skin reaction, you would have come to the realization that foundation will be your worst enemy in trying to cover it up. Foundation does not perfect your skin, but it does even out your skin tone and cover blemishes however if your skin texture is not hydrated or smooth then it will only emphasize it, not cover it. The first step in restoring the balance of your skin is to:

  1. Stop using the new product completely (if you are aware of the exact product that has caused the reaction)
  2. Use soothing and hydrating creams to pump moisture back into your skin. (My pick: Avene Hydrance Optimale Soothing Hydrating Serum, pictured below)
  3. Use a cream exfoliator and exfoliate (gently) once a week, until your skin has returned back to normal
  4. Do not stop using those hydrating creams. They are essential.
  5. Practice routine and patience.
Hydrance_Optimale_Soothing_Hydrating_Serum
My pick: Avene Hydrance soothing cream, fabulous for repairing and rehydrating skin!

Slowly but surely within two weeks my skin was back to normal, and now I am super careful to research products to avoid over-product-ing my skin! I never want to experience that ever again! Tips to make sure you never overuse products on your skin:

  1. Wash your face with a soap-free cleanser! Soap depletes the oils in your skin and disrupts the pH balance.
  2. Always use a toner after cleansing and prior to moisturizing in order to restore the pH balance to your skin.
  3. Use a pea-sized amount of moisturizer/serum. Do not use any more! Remember: you can always add more moisturizer but you cannot take away moisturizer once you’ve applied it.
  4. If you feel tingling, burning, itching, STOP using the product immediately.

I hope that my beauty blunder will help everyone in practicing proper use of skin care products, please share with me your success and blunders! Has there ever been a time you used a product incorrectly, if so, what happened?

2 thoughts on “Beauty Blunder – Skincare Edition

  1. Razia Bertone March 4, 2015 / 1:08 am

    Very informative! any recommendations on good concealers for very dark circles?

    Like

  2. Shaila bukhari March 5, 2015 / 12:08 am

    Racheal the advice you are giving is most appreciated coming from such a young and beautiful women.
    I being an older person, I am taking your advice very seriously.
    We never had such good advice when we were younger.
    So listen up everyone.
    She knows her stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

