5 Ingredients to Revamp your Smoothie

Samantha Hicks
Public relations student at Humber College.

Not quite halfway through February and already I could feel my originally steel-hard, eat healthy, New Year’s resolution waning. My primary tool in this uphill battle had been smoothies, and I was getting bored of the same three ingredients. I was going smoothie-less a little too often. I felt as though I had exhausted all of the options: green ones, greek ones, fresh fruit, frozen fruit, with banana, and without. Before giving up though, I decided to get creative. In order to revamp my usual recipe, I mixed in these five ingredients. On their own or combined, they pack an additional punch of health benefits and a fresh taste.

  1. Avocado
    Turns out avocados are good for more than guac. Not only are they a great source of fiber and folate, they also take your shake from flat and lifeless to thick and creamy; which is great if you’re ditching dairy. They are chalk-full of those healthy fats we seek out. Avocados aid your body in the absorption of all the other good stuff you’re packing into your blender. Add half of one avocado to your recipe and reap the benefits!
  2. Cinnamon
    Get your minerals, lower that cholesterol, regulate your blood sugar and improve memory. Add a pinch of cinnamon to your smoothie! Try combining cinnamon and avocado with banana, lime juice, coconut water and yogurt. Get the specifics here: http://foodandtools.com/2014/02/16/healthy-avocado-smoothie-with-cinnamon/
  3. Old Fashioned Oats
    Breakfast smoothies are so good for so many reasons. They’re healthy, they’re quick, they require very little clean up and it’s much easier to drink a smoothie in the car than it is to eat your eggs. Some mornings though, my smoothie just wasn’t cutting it. I’d find myself gorging on granola bars, or worse, an hour later. No more! Adding old fashioned oats gives substance, keeping you full for longer. Blend them up with a banana, yogurt, almond milk and cinnamon.
  4. Green Tea
    A good base goes a long way. Substitute milk for chilled green tea for an antioxidant jammed, fat-loss promoting drink. Make a batch for the week and store it in the fridge, or try freezing green tea in an ice cube tray. Roll the avocados, oats, and green tea into one with this healthy recipe: http://onsugarmountain.com/2014/05/01/super-charged-green-tea-avocado-spinach-smoothie/. Is your aim to be dairy free? Use green tea as your base, and then add avocado for body (ruling out the need for yogurt).
  5. Almond Butter
    In addition to providing a yummy, nutty flavor, almond butter is also a source of omega 3, vitamin E, and can be an excellent replacement for peanut butter in the case of an allergy. Almond butter provides the same amount of protein in one tablespoon, as the same quantity of meat would.

I’m all about getting my fruits and vegetables, increasing my energy, and improving my digestion. Team these five sneaky ingredients up with your tried-and-proven to hike the healthiness of your smoothie and switch it up on your taste buds. If you’re worried about the effect that avocados, or even spinach, will have on your smoothies, try masking the vegetables with natural peanut butter or cocoa powder. What quirky ingredient are you already adding to your smoothies?

 

 

4 thoughts on “5 Ingredients to Revamp your Smoothie

  1. Crafty Coin March 3, 2015 / 7:05 pm

    Spinach is always a must and I like to add coconut oil for all of its health benefits. Add bonus, the coconut oil gives it a nice froth 🙂

    Like

    • samanthalynnehicks March 6, 2015 / 5:59 pm

      I’m definitely going to try adding coconut oil! I’ve used it in my hair and on my skin but I never thought to use it in a smoothie. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. caitlinbell8 April 11, 2015 / 6:22 pm

    I really enjoyed reading this blog post, Sam! I’m definitely behind you on the fact that smoothies get boring after a while if you’re using the same ingredients each time. I went through a phase of making a plain banana smoothie every single morning that I eventually fell off of the healthy-eating-bandwagon because I got so bored of it.

    I discovered the neat idea of making up little packs of frozen smoothie ingredients in Ziploc bags so I could just pull one out of the freezer for a quick breakfast, so I tried a bunch of different recipes. I attempted to make one with avocado, pineapple, oats, and milk, and it tasted horrible; I was a little bit put off. Although avocado set me back once, I have tried it again since then and have managed to create some masterpieces! One of my favourite smoothies at the moment is: one banana, a handful of frozen unsweetened blueberries, a handful of frozen unsweetened raspberries, half an avocado, about a cup of water, and a scoop of my chocolate protein powder. It keeps me full for quite a while, and I manage to get about half of my protein intake right at the start of the day!

    I keep up with some healthy lifestyle blogs and one of my favourites is Canadian vegan blogger, Angela Liddon’s OhSheGlows. She posts tons of vegan recipes that sound absolutely delicious, and a lot of the smoothies are filled with ingredients that you would never really think of adding.
    http://ohsheglows.com/categories/recipes-2/beverages/smoothies-beverages/

    Since you’ve been playing around with different ingredients, do you have any favourite recipes, or specifically any favourite ingredients that you have discovered?

    Caitlin Bell is a public relations student studying at Humber College.

    Like

Leave a Reply

