5 reasons why you should DIY!

By Aissatou Bah, a public relations advanced diploma student at Humber College.

UPDATE: 5 DIYs: Broke College Student Edition! Read it here: https://damagecontrol7media.wordpress.com/2015/03/25/784/

5 cool and inspiring DIY bloggers to follow! Read it here: https://damagecontrol7media.wordpress.com/2015/04/09/5-cool-and-inspiring-diy-bloggers-to-follow/

For as long as I could remember, I struggled to create something I was proud of. I couldn’t draw, I couldn’t dance, and I couldn’t sing. I know that there are many others out there like me. And I want to let you know about my secret; DIY projects.

DIY’s are an awesome way of letting the creativity from your brain flow through your hands.  With DIY’s you can make new things AND repair old stuff. And the fun part is that you can DIY anything from clothes, to candles, shelves, organizers, bracelets, and even beauty products. Here are five reasons why YOU should DIY.

DIY

  1. Save money. Save money. Save money. (Shall I say it again?)

Homemade items are usually more cost-effective than store-bought ones. DIYs are guaranteed to make you save at least a little. As a student, it is appealing to know that I can make great things with stuff from Dollarama. Let’s take shampoo as an example. Did you know that using baking soda with water is an excellent shampoo alternative? You will end up with several jars which you can stockpile or gift for a cheaper price than the usual shampoo!

  1. Unleash your inner creativity

Once you start, you can’t stop! You will get so many more ideas and start new projects. I call this the case of the explosion of ideas. For instance, last Christmas I decided that I wouldn’t buy my friends gifts but that I would make them instead. I made a long list of gift ideas to match each personality. I ended up designing mugs with a sharpie and filling them with little goodies like hand sanitizer, candy canes, chocolate and lip balm.

  1. Eco-friendly

Say goodbye to toxic chemicals and plastic! DIYs literally make you reduce, reuse, and recycle. DIY treats and products are often kept in glass jars to reuse to your heart’s content.  I personally love recycling! By doing so, I can turn newspapers into cute nail art, and make decorations or baskets. One man’s trash is indeed another man’s treasure.

  1. Make personal gifts

If you don’t have time to buy a gift, you can make one with things around your home. Some DIY gifts also take less time than shopping. DIY gifts are more unique and meaningful because the end result shows how much time and effort you put into it.  For my best friend’s birthday, I took an empty jar of strawberry jam and filled it with 100 reasons why I loved her. Spend less, give more!

  1. Bragging rights!

I want you to close your eyes and picture this exact moment.

*Cue magical music*

You: Hey girl!

Friend: Hey, oh my God where’d you get that bracelet!?

You: I made it!

Friend: No seriously, it looks way too nice to be made by you, no offence.

You: Ha-ha, *nudges friend slightly hard* I promise I made it. I only used assorted loom bands and a plastic clip. Fishtailing came in handy as well. It’s really easy to make, want one?

Friend: Totally! I am going to tell E-V-E-R-Y-O-N-E you have a super cool talent.

You: Really? It’s nothing. *smiles in triumph*

*End of vision*

Sharing successful projects that you have made yourself will make you feel accomplished. Which reason has or hasn’t convinced you? Let me know in the comment section !

Not convinced yet?  More on why you should DIY: http://www.prettyhandygirl.com/top-10-reasons-to-do-it-yourself/

5 helpful tips for DIY beginners: http://www.bobvila.com/articles/bob-tedeschi-diy-tips-beginners-pragmatist/#.VNa8E00tGM8

3 thoughts on “5 reasons why you should DIY!

  1. gisselle February 27, 2015 / 2:27 am

    very articulate and well written, great job! really interesting learned a lot.

    Like

  2. Aleyeh February 27, 2015 / 4:43 am

    That was one awesome article! Thanks for sharing

    Like

  3. Laura Velez February 28, 2015 / 4:16 pm

    I’m not a fan of DIY’s just because i have no patience or creativity for it. Your blog post is making me want to give it another try, though. The link for DIY beginners was very helpful too! Thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

